Ask Us
Bookmark and Share

ARTS AND CULTURE

Sault Ste. Marie Museum – Originally built as Sault Ste. Marie’s Post office, the Museum itself is a heritage structure. In 1902, local craftsmen used sandstone from the excavation for the Sault Canal to build the structure. Then years later, the Tower Clock that was designed in England was installed. Today, visitors can browse through three floors of exhibit galleries, each floor having its own interesting stories of Sault Ste. Marie’s history and heritage. The Museum is open year round. 
Call: 705-759-7278
Visit: www.saultmuseum.com  

Canadian Bushplane Heritage Centre - Located on the city’s waterfront, the gallery offers a wide variety of exhibitions in two galleries. Over 25 exhibits annually and an extensive permanent collection have earned the praise of distinguished art critics from all over the world. Traveling exhibits have come from the Royal Ontario Museum, the National Gallery and the Canadian Museum of Nature to name just a few. Open year round. 
Call: 705-945-6242
Visit: www.bushplane.com  

Art Gallery - Located on the city’s waterfront, the Art Gallery of Algoma is a public gallery dedicated to cultivating and advancing the awareness of visual arts in Sault Ste. Marie and district. The gallery offers a wide variety of exhibitions in two galleries. Over 25 exhibits annually and an extensive permanent collection have earned the praise of distinguished art critics from all over the world. Traveling exhibits have come from the Royal Ontario Museum, the National Gallery and the Canadian Museum of Nature to name just a few. Open year round. 
Call: 705-949-9067 
Visit: www.artgalleryofalgoma.ca 


The Ermatinger Clergue National Historic Site - 
 This site consists of two of the oldest stone buildings northwest of Toronto surrounded by period gardens. The first building, the Ermatinger Old Stone House, is restored to depict the domestic and professional life of Charles Oakes Ermatinger and other prominent residents and visitors of the House between 1808 and 1870 reflecting the nationally recognized historic aspects of the House. The second building, the Clergue Blockhouse, was relocated to the Site in 1996, and was the home of Francis Hector Clergue from 1894 - 1908.  The Ermatinger•Clergue National Historic Site will provide the residents of Sault Ste. Marie and its visitors, with the opportunity to experience costumed interpreters during daily operations, festivals, demonstrations and tours that are designed to portray the customs and lifestyles of our earliest citizens. 
Call: 705-759-5443
Visit: old.stone.house@cityssm.on.ca
Sault College Video